Thu | Apr 26, 2018

Melbourne, Saints clash in Corporate Area play-off

Published:Saturday | June 22, 2013 | 12:00 AM

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

Perennial rivals Melbourne and St Catherine CC will today meet in a play-off to decide which team advances to the semi-finals of the Jamaica Cricket Association One-Day Championship.

The match, which will be played at Melbourne Oval, beginning at 9:30 a.m., will see St Catherine, winners of Corporate Area Zone B in the preliminaries, featuring the likes of André Russell, Danza Hyatt, Odean Brown, Oraine Williams and captain Tamar Lambert

Melbourne will be led by stand-in captain Jon-Ross Campbell and are expected to include Carlton Baugh Jr, André McCarthy, Yannick Elliott, Tarique White, Sadiki Bolt and Damion Jacobs.

Key players

"It should be a good game as both teams tend to give it their all when playing against each other," said Ephraim McLeod, technical director of St Catherine.

"Most of our key players are available, and we are really looking forward to winning, as we would love to be in the semi-finals."

Campbell, who has been handed the reins at Melbourne replacing Nikita Miller who is away with West Indies 'A', said he hoped his team's good form in the preliminaries will continue.

Melbourne, last year's beaten finalists, and winners of Corporate Area Zone A, ended the preliminaries with a record of five wins from as many matches.

"Melbourne have been playing good consistent cricket all season, and the hope is that this will continue," said Campbell.

"We know St Catherine are a good all-round team, and as such, we will have to sharp. But we are prepared and plan to give it our best shot," he disclosed.

Meanwhile, the other three semi-finalists will be decided today as well.

Over in the West Zone, hopefuls Hanover and Westmoreland, 12 points each, will square-off at Elgin Town, while in the East Zone leaders St Ann (12) and St Mary (9) will clash at Three Hills.

South Central Zone will see Manchester (10) playing away to out-of-contention St Elizabeth (4), and St Catherine CA (10) hosting Clarendon (4).