Sat | Apr 21, 2018

New-look JPL offers $1 million winner's prize

Published:Thursday | October 31, 2013 | 12:00 AM

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

The second annual Jamaica Premier League Twenty20 tournament will see the winners walking away with $1 million.

This was announced yesterday during the launch of this season's staging, which was held at Sabina Park.

The increase in prize money will represent a 100 per cent increase over last year's edition, which was won by University Dynamites.

There will also be a hike in prize purse for the franchise team finishing second, with this year's runners-up set to pocket $300,000, which is $100,000 more than last year.

The month-long tournament, which is set to bowl off this weekend with a featured double-header at Chedwin Park, will also see a change in the number of franchise teams participating, with new numbers being six - two less than last year.

They are Kingston Hurricanes, Spanish Town Titans, Montego Bay Sixers, Mandeville Thunders, Ocho Rios Chargers and University Dynamites.

The two franchise teams that have been omitted this season are May Pen Earthquakes and Half-Way Tree Sparks.

improving quality of play

The reduction in teams, according to Jamaica Cricket Association vice-president, and chairman of the tournament's organising committee, Milton Henry, was done with a view to improving the overall quality of play.

"We are down from eight teams to six, as we invest in quality," Henry said. "This is our premier national T20 tournament, and like the just-concluded Caribbean Premier League, we would like spectators to be treated to some exciting cricket."

The tournament, which will again be sponsored by the Tourism Enhancement Fund, in the meantime, will also see a change in its format, with the six teams competing in a round-robin preliminary round, with the winners set to advance to the final.

The other finalist is set to emerge via a semi-final play-off between the second- and third-placed teams.

The tournament, in addition to Chedwin Park, will be played across five other venues. They are the Trelawny Stadium and Melbourne Oval in Kingston, Ultimate Oval in St Ann, and Manley Horne Park and Treasure Beach Sports Complex in St Elizabeth.