STETHS, JC ready for Olivier Shield 'humdinger'

Published: Wednesday | December 4, 2013 Comments 0
STETHS' goal-machine, Khesanio Hall.
STETHS' goal-machine, Khesanio Hall.
JC's captain and chief goal-getter, Junior Flemming.
JC's captain and chief goal-getter, Junior Flemming.

Paul Clarke & Kwesi Mugisa, Gleaner Reporters


Fresh from their daCosta Cup winning exploits on Saturday, St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) and Manning Cup champions Jamaica College will this afternoon meet at STETHS Sports Complex in Santa Cruz, in the first game of the two-leg battle, for the 2013 Olivier Shield crown. The return leg will be in Kingston on Saturday.

Match time is at 3 p.m.

For the Miguel Coley-coached JC, it is a chance to claim a 17th lien on the Shield, which is the symbol of all-island schoolboy football supremacy. And, while winning the title is not beyond them, it will take another mammoth effort from the Manning Cup kings to lay claim to the title.

It took them a gruelling 120 minutes of non-stop running against Wolmer's Boys' to etch their names on the Corporate Area title for a record 25th time, courtesy of a 3-2 victory.

Now. they must look to topple a STETHS team, certainly in its element after totally dominating Garvey Maceo to win their fourth daCosta Cup title 4-1 on the weekend.

JC manager Ian Forbes, however, insists the Old Hope Road-based unit is confident.

"We haven't really seen a lot of them, but I know they are a quality team and they have already claimed two titles this season. I don't, however, see any reason for us to be alarmed because I am positive that we have the quality to cope," Forbes told The Gleaner.

"The team is very confident ahead of these games. We are ready to go and hoping to get a good result tomorrow and in Saturday's return leg as well," he added.

Omar Wedderburn, STETHS' coach, is fully aware of the dangers that JC pose for his team's unbeaten record this year, but is keen on landing a second Olivier Shield title to add to the one they won in 1999, following a 5-4 aggregate win over Tivoli Gardens High School.

"This JC team reminds us of ourselves," Wedderburn told The Gleaner.

"They fight for everything, with a never-say-die attitude and a fearlessness that all champions must have.

"They have really good players in all positions, but we have the answers to any questions they might pose and I am confident of another win and this one to take back to the Corporate Area for the return leg," Wedderburn said.

If anything, JC have history on their side, as the Manning Cup champions have won the all-island Shield on the last six occasions. The 'True Blue' have accounted for it twice, 2007 and 2010, while the 'Light Blues', St George's College, won the other four years. And except for Glenmuir - which shared the Shield with Bridgeport in 2006 and won outright in 2004 - Excelsior (2003) and Calabar (2005) were also involved in the Corporate Area dominance dating back to 2002 when Rusea's won.

Led by their impeccable captain and main goal-getter, Junior Flemming, Jamaica College will be perfectly aware of their counterparts from Santa Cruz, who have literally waltzed through the competition with such ease it suggests that it will be a hard task for any school to bring an end to their dream of landing a first-ever triple crown.

Khesanio Hall has been scoring almost at will for STETHS and strike partner Javon James has hit his stride. Both scored in the final on Saturday and are almost on queue for another high-class performance and could only be stymied if the JC defence play solidly.

"We want to maintain what we have going. We want to dominate and defeat this JC team to win the Shield, which would be a big plus for our players. It will not be easy, as they are also worthy champions, but we have the necessary balance in our team, that is capable of winning.

"One thing is sure, and that is when we meet JC it will be a real humdinger for the right to be called all-island champions," Wedderburn said.

With Jamaica College having not played competitively since they claimed the Manning Cup crown two weeks ago, there have been concerns raised about the team's match-readiness ahead of the two-leg battle.

Forbes, however, was also confident that match-sharpness would not be an issue for the JC unit.

"Not at all, we won't we be rusty, it has been a good couple of days of rest, and so, we will definitely be ready for the game," he said.

1909 Jamaica College

1910 Jamaica College

1911 Munro College (formerly Potsdam)

1912 St George's College

1913 Jamaica College

1914 Munro College

1915 Jamaica College

1916 Jamaica College

1917 Jamaica College

1918 Jamaica College

1919 Jamaica College/Munro

1920 St George's/Munro College

1921 Jamaica College

1922 Jamaica College

1923 Munro College

1924 Munro College

1925 Munro College

1926 Wolmer's Boys'

1927 Munro College

1928 St George's College

1929 Cornwall College

1930 Cornwall College

1931 Cornwall College

1932 Munro College

1933 Munro College

1934 Munro College

1935 St George's College

1936 Munro College

1937 St George's College

1938 Wolmer's/Munro College

1939 Munro College

1940 Cornwall College

1941 Munro College

1942 Jamaica College

1943 Munro College

1944 No competition

1945 Munro College

1946 Jamaica College

1947 St George's College

1948 St George's College

1949 Kingston College

1950 Munro College

1951 Munro College

1952 Kingston College

1953 Cornwall College

1954 No competition

1955 Cornwall College

1956 St George's College

1957 Kingston College

1958 Cornwall College

1959 St George's/Cornwall College

1960 No competition

1961 Jamaica College

1962 Jamaica College

1963 Cornwall College

1964 Kingston College

1965 Kingston College

1966 No competition

1967 Vere Technical

1968 Vere Technical

1969 Vere Technical

1970 Vere Technical

1971 Wolmer's Boys'

1972 No competition

1973 No competition

1974 Jamaica College

1975 Kingston College

1976 Vere Technical

1977 Clarendon College

1978 Clarendon College

1979 Camperdown

1980 Vere Technical

1981 Kingston College/Dinthill

1982 Camperdown

1983 Cornwall College

1984 St George's College

1985 Kingston College/Rusea's

1986 Kingston College

1987 St Andrew Technical

1988 Charlie Smith

1989 Rusea's

1990 Rusea's/Charlie Smith

1991 Ardenne

1992 Rusea's

1993 Excelsior/Rusea's

1994 Wolmer's Boys'

1995 Charlie Smith

1996 Norman Manley

1997 No competition

1998 Clarendon/Dunoon Tech


2000 Norman Manley

2001 Cornwall College

2002 Rusea's

2003 Excelsior

2004 Glenmuir

2005 Calabar

2006 Bridgeport/Glenmuir

2007 Jamaica College

2008 St George's College

2009 St George's College

2010 Jamaica College

2011 St George's College

2012 St George's College

Share |

The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner.
The Gleaner reserves the right not to publish comments that may be deemed libelous, derogatory or indecent. Please keep comments short and precise. A maximum of 8 sentences should be the target. Longer responses/comments should be sent to "Letters of the Editor" using the feedback form provided.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Top Jobs

View all Jobs