Taylor shortlisted for ODI Cricketer of the Year

Published: Wednesday | December 4, 2013 Comments 0

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (CMC):

West Indies cricketer Stafanie Taylor is once again a major contender for the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year.

Taylor, who won the title last year, is among several players shortlisted for the award this year, which will be announced in a TV show that will be broadcast on 14 December.

Taylor is joined by New Zealand captain Suzie Bates, Australia's Meg Lanning, South Africa's Dane van Niekerk and the England pair of Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole.

Taylor, Bates and Lanning also feature in the shortlist for the ICC Women's T20 Cricketer of the Year, along with England's Sarah Taylor and the West Indies duo of Shanel Daley and Deandra Dottin.

This year's ICC Awards includes 11 individual prizes, including the People's Choice Award.

The long lists of nominations for each award were put together by a five-person ICC selection panel, before a 32-member voting academy trimmed the nominees to the shortlist.

Meantime, England's James Anderson, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Australia captain Michael Clarke have all been shortlisted for the top honours at this year's Awards.

The three cricketers have been shortlisted for both the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

Share |

The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner.
The Gleaner reserves the right not to publish comments that may be deemed libelous, derogatory or indecent. Please keep comments short and precise. A maximum of 8 sentences should be the target. Longer responses/comments should be sent to "Letters of the Editor" using the feedback form provided.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Top Jobs

View all Jobs