Steep task for STETHS - JC ready to lift the Shield

Published: Saturday | December 7, 2013 Comments 0
STETHS' Khesanio Hall.
STETHS' Khesanio Hall.
Jamaica College's Raffique Bryan
Jamaica College's Raffique Bryan

Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer

With one hand on the trophy following Wednesday's emphatic 3-0 win in St Elizabeth, urban champions Jamaica College (JC) will be looking to wrap Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/LIME Olivier Shield title when they oppose rural champions St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) in this afternoon's second-leg final at the Stadium East field starting at 3 p.m.

In the first leg, the Miguel Coley-coached JC triumphed courtesy of a double strike from former national Under-17 striker Raffique Bryan. STETHS' task is made even gretaer by the fact that the Manning Cup champions have won the Olivier Shield on the last six occasions.

The Old Hope Road-based institution has lifted it twice, 2007 and 2010, while St George's College won on four occasions. JC, who are seeking their 17th lien on the Shield, will enter today's return game oozing confidence. However, the JC camp is cognisant of the fact that a draw would be enough for the team to win the trophy, but Coley said his team will be going for another win.

Coley confident

"We are feeling very confident," said Coley. "However, we have to go out there and play very hard because it will be a tough game," he said. "STETHS are going to come out fighting because they are a championship team and so we expect a tough game."

Coley added: "I think that we have to prevent them from scoring and take our chances and once we do that there is a high possibility that we will win game."

Bryan is expected to receive good support from his captain and former national Under-17 striker Junior Flemming, Ramone Howell, who also scored in the first-leg victory, Malique Foster, and Kevin Blackwood.

On the other hand, STETHS' coach Omar Wedderburn said they are aware of the task, but his team will be giving it their best shot, as they are not going down without a fight.

"Our plan is to try and get back into the game because we are 3-0 down, and so we have to try and score some early goals," said Wedderburn.

"I think that our players are mentally ready for this one because they know the task at hand, and this is our last game of the season and we would like to turn the tables on them," he said.

Continuing, Wedderburn said: "I believe that once we get an early goal it will give us more reasons to fight, but we know that is it not an easy task for us, but we just have to go out there and fight to the end."

Khesanio Hall, STETHS' leading scorer and strike partner Javon James are expected to once again lead the the charge for the Santa Cruz-based team.

"I think that our attackers need to come out with a lot more aggression because we need to be on the attack from the opening whistle," Wedderburn added.

  • Past Olivier Shield Champs
1909: Jamaica College

1910: Jamaica College

1911: Munro College (formerly Potsdam)

1912: St George's College

1913: Jamaica College

1914: Munro College

1915: Jamaica College

1916: Jamaica College

1917: Jamaica College

1918: Jamaica College

1919: Jamaica College/Munro

1920: St George's/Munro College

1921: Jamaica College

1922: Jamaica College

1923: Munro College

1924: Munro College

1925: Munro College

1926: Wolmer's Boys'

1927: Munro College

1928: St George's College

1929: Cornwall College

1930: Cornwall College

1931: Cornwall College

1932: Munro College

1933: Munro College

1934: Munro College

1935: St George's College

1936: Munro College

1937: St George's College

1938: Wolmer's/Munro College

1939: Munro College

1940: Cornwall College

1941: Munro College

1942: Jamaica College

1943: Munro College

1944: No competition

1945: Munro College

1946: Jamaica College

1947: St George's College

1948: St George's College

1949: Kingston College

1950: Munro College

1951: Munro College

1952: Kingston College

1953: Cornwall College

1954: No competition

1955: Cornwall College

1956: St George's College

1957: Kingston College

1958: Cornwall College

1959: St George's/Cornwall College

1960: No competition

1961: Jamaica College

1962: Jamaica College

1963: Cornwall College

1964: Kingston College

1965: Kingston College

1966: No competition

1967: Vere Technical

1968: Vere Technical

1969: Vere Technical

1970: Vere Technical

1971: Wolmer's Boys'

1972: No competition

1973: No competition

1974: Jamaica College

1975: Kingston College

1976: Vere Technical

1977: Clarendon College

1978: Clarendon College

1979: Camperdown

1980: Vere Technical

1981: Kingston College/Dinthill

1982: Camperdown

1983: Cornwall College

1984: St George's College

1985: Kingston College/Rusea's

1986: Kingston College

1987: St Andrew Technical

1988: Charlie Smith

1989: Rusea's

1990: Rusea's/Charlie Smith

1991: Ardenne

1992: Rusea's

1993: Excelsior/Rusea's

1994: Wolmer's Boys'

1995: Charlie Smith

1996: Norman Manley

1997: No competition

1998: Clarendon/Dunoon Tech

1999: STETHS

2000: Norman Manley

2001: Cornwall College

2002: Rusea's

2003: Excelsior

2004: Glenmuir

2005: Calabar

2006: Bridgeport/Glenmuir

2007: Jamaica College

2008: St George's College

2009: St George's College

2010: Jamaica College

2011: St George's College

2012: St George's College

Share |

The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner.
The Gleaner reserves the right not to publish comments that may be deemed libelous, derogatory or indecent. Please keep comments short and precise. A maximum of 8 sentences should be the target. Longer responses/comments should be sent to "Letters of the Editor" using the feedback form provided.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Top Jobs

View all Jobs