Aussie Clarke takes top honours at ICC Awards

Published: Sunday | December 15, 2013 Comments 0


There were no awards for West Indian cricketers as the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the winners of the 2013 LG ICC Awards.

Three West Indies women cricketers - Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin and Shanel Daley - were nominated in two categories for the annual awards.

However, New Zealand captain Suzie Bates won the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year award - her first ICC award - and England's Sarah Taylor clinched the ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row.

Australia's captain, Michael Clarke, was announced the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

Clarke was earlier named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year in Mumbai on December 3. In the same event, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was revealed as the LG People's Choice award winner.

Winners list

Clarke has been joined on the winners' list by Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, who was named ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, and India's Cheteshwar Pujara, who claimed his first-ever ICC award after being named the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

Also joining Pujara and Bates on the winners list for the first time are Pakistan fast bowler Umar Gul, whose five for six against South Africa won him the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award; Ireland's Kevin O'Brien, who won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award; and Richard Kettleborough of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, who won the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena won his second ICC Spirit of Cricket award, this time for walking without waiting for an umpire's decision when batting on 91 against New Zealand in Galle in November 2012.

In total, there are 11 individual awards, as well as the two ICC Teams of the Year - for Tests and ODIs.

The full list of winners is:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Michael Clarke (Australia)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year - Michael Clarke (Australia)

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year - Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year - Umar Gul (Pakistan)

ICC T20I Women's Cricketer of the Year - Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award - Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)

ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) - Richard Kettleborough

LG People's Choice - MS Dhoni

ICC Test Team of the Year (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng - Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind-wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Vernon Philander (SA), 12th Man - Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind),Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL), 12th Man - Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ).

Share |

The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner.
The Gleaner reserves the right not to publish comments that may be deemed libelous, derogatory or indecent. Please keep comments short and precise. A maximum of 8 sentences should be the target. Longer responses/comments should be sent to "Letters of the Editor" using the feedback form provided.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Top Jobs

View all Jobs