Mon | May 25, 2020

Latibeaudiere new HAJ chair

Published:Wednesday | December 31, 1969 | 7:00 PM

Former Governor of the Bank of Jamaica, Derick Latibeaudiere, has been appointed chairman of a new-look board of directors of the Housing Agency of Jamaica (HAJ).

Dr Omar Davies, minister of transport, works, and housing, made the disclosure during the sitting of the House of Representatives yesterday. The other board members are banker Norman Reid; Donald Moore, senior general manager at the National Housing Trust; Lucille Brodber, head of the Jamaica Emergency Employment Programme secretariat; public servant Maureen Vernon; management consultant Jerron Green; attorney-at-law Susan Lawrence; and financial analyst Kenarthur Mitchell.

The announcement of the new board follows the resignation of the previous board last week amid allegations of political interference in the day-to-day affairs of the agency.

"The new board has been charged with the responsibility to accelerate the search for, and appointment of, a new managing director," Davies said.

The HAJ has seen the resignation of three managing directors in recent months. First was Joseph Shoucair, who opted not to renew his contract, which expired in December 2012, and who stayed on at the request of the board until last July. His successor, Rosemarie Brown, served for four months, and finally, Karl Bennett stayed for just three months.

Davies told the House yesterday that between April and December 2013, a total of 44 employees separated from the agency, which is undergoing reorganisation.