Tue | Jan 22, 2019

Arnett ready for U17 kick-off

Published:Friday | August 22, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Marc Stamp, Gleaner Writer

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is working very closely with the management of Arnett Gardens Football Club, which owns the Anthony Spaulding Sports Complex, to ensure that the venue is ready to host the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-17 World Cup qualifiers scheduled to kick off tomorrow.

"We (the JFF) have indicated to the management of the Arnett Gardens Football Club what is required for the readiness of the venue. We are working very closely with them," the JFF director of operations, PR and events, Janice Rose-Brown, told The Gleaner yesterday morning.

"Mr Aubrey Duncan, JFF facilities manager, has been assigned and we are satisfied at this time that they (Arnett Gardens FC) are cooperating," Rose-Brown added.

Jamaica accepted a request from the CFU to host Group One of the Under-17 qualifiers for the 2015 FIFA World Cup. The games are scheduled on August 23, 25 and 27.

The host country apart, the other Caribbean nations drawn in the group are Guadeloupe, US Virgin Islands and Cayman Islands.


Tomorrow, Guadeloupe will tackle the Cayman Islands, starting at 4 p.m., to be followed by Jamaica up against US Virgin Islands at 7 p.m.

Two days later, US Virgin Islands face Guadeloupe at 4 p.m. and Jamaica meet Cayman Islands at 7 p.m. Then on Wednesday, Cayman Islands vs US Virgin Islands at 4 p.m., and Jamaica vs Guadeloupe at 7 p.m.

At the completion of all five group competitions, the winners and best three second place finishers will advance to the final stage to be held in Haiti next month. Cuba, Martinique and Barbados have already qualified for the CFU Finals.

All the visiting teams were scheduled to arrive yesterday for the tournament. The US Virgin Islands were due at 5:37 p.m., Cayman Islands at 8:05 p.m. and Guadeloupe at 11:55 p.m.

Jamaica's 20-man squad reads: Akeem Chambers, Javain Brown, Donovan Dawkins, Delverone Simpson, Ryan Knight, Fabian Grant, Michael Edwards, Jahwahni Hinds, Nicholas Nelson, Alex Marshall, Clive Jarrett, Ronaldo Watson, Jahmali Waite, Hakim Williams, Deshane Beckford, Tajea Brown, Justin McMaster, Tavon Barnes, Charles Grant and Ajeanie Talbott. The head coach is Andrew Edwards, while the assistant coach is Omar Edwards.