Tue | Aug 14, 2018

Race Course win SDC T20 title

Published:Tuesday | August 26, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

Led by opener Wayne Davis and Jason Wedderburn, Clarendon-based Race Course dethroned last year's winners, Old Harbour, in the 2014 Social Development Commission (SDC) Community Twenty20 cricket final at Alpart Sports Club, St Elizabeth on Sunday.

Set 78 to win from eight overs under the Duckworth/Lewis scoring system after rain had stopped Old Harbour's innings at 86 for two in the 11th over, Race Course achieved their target at 78 for four.

Davis slammed an unbeaten 38 and Wedderburn, 22, as Race Course achieved their target off the last ball of the day.

The chase was also made possible via Stewart Morris, who after entering the game with his team needing four runs off the last two balls, delivered with two runs off each.

"It was an excellent win as after going to the semis twice before and contesting our first final, we were able to pull it off," said Race Course manager, Everton Calder.

"It was also one of the best final witnessed in the tournament's history, as it could have gone either way and God brought it our way."

Old Harbour, who won the toss and chose to bat, were doing well after the first 10 overs and were setting themselves up for a decent total when the rains came.


The rain halted play for approximately one hour and after it had subsided, the umpires applied the Duckworth and Lewis calculations.

Former Jamaica Under-19 fast bowler, Ravmon Powell, 34 not out, and wicketkeeper Ranville Brown, 21, led the way for Old Harbour. Former Jamaica fast bowler, Dwight Stewart, claimed one for 15.

Race Course, in their pursuits, needed nine runs off the final over. Pacer Robert Cato, one for 27, and Powell, one for 16, ended as Old Harbour's best bowlers.

"I thought we had enough runs to make a successful defence, but we made some crucial mistakes in the field," said Old Harbour's manager, Clinton Green. "This included bowling the right bowlers at the right time. But congratulations to Race Course. They are a good team."

Race Course took home $1.3 million, while Old Harbour got $600,000.