Wed | Jan 16, 2019

Bartlett awards top performers

Published:Saturday | August 30, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Karrie Williams, Gleaner Writer


Top-performing students from the East Central St James constituency were presented with educational scholarships by Member of Parliament Edmund Bartlett recently.

The scholarships, which are valued in excess of $2.5 million and were awarded to new and returning secondary- and tertiary-level students, represent the lion's share of East Central St James' Constituency Development Fund allocation, Bartlett said.

During a luncheon - staged by the Sunset Beach Resort, Spa and Waterpark - to honour the awardees, Minister of Education Ronald Thwaites congratulated the awardees and commended Bartlett for his long-standing commitment to educational development in his constituency.

"I wanted to come because I wanted to meet all of you. But I also wanted to express profound appreciation to the member of parliament for the work that he has been doing and for the commitment that he has made to education ... . What Ed Bartlett has done in his constituency over the past many years is truly exemplary, and that is nation building," Thwaites said.

The awardees included Ricardo Salesman, a teacher of Spot Valley High School who received a full scholarship to advance his studies in mathematics education at the University of Technology (UTech), starting this academic year. Final-year student Alecia Reid, who is pursuing a Bachelor of Business Administration at UTech, was also awarded. Also receiving a scholarship for tertiary studies was Nickeita Hunter, a final-year English major at Sam Sharpe Teachers' College.

Jordaine Rosewell and Britanie Ferguson of Buckingham Primary School, located in the community of Hopeton, were awarded for being Top Boy and Top Girl from the constituency. Both received test scores of 95 per cent in the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) and will be moving on to Cornwall College and the Montego Bay High School for Girls, respectively.

Among the other GSAT awardees were Davante Whittaker of Dumphries Primary School, who will be moving on to Munro College; Davia Barrett of John's Hall Primary School, who will be attending the Montego Bay High School for Girls; Adela Dowman of Barrett Town All-Age School, who is now enrolled at Montego Bay High School for Girls; and Patroy Vernon of John Rollins Success Primary School, who will be attending Cornwall College.