Thu | Jan 21, 2021

Marcus James' board nominees defeated at Access AGM

Published:Thursday | September 11, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Shareholders of Access Financial Services voted Wednesday to increase the board to seven seats, but only six positions were filled at the close of the annual general meeting.

The new board comprises shareholder directors Neville James and Gary Peart, CEO Marcus James, and returning directors Brian Goldson, Chris Berry and Peter McConnell.

The latter three men survived a challenge mounted by Marcus James, whose nominations of Sandra Glasgow, Douglas Lindo and Camille Shields were defeated in the late-evening voting. Neville James is the only new addition to the board. He essentially replaced Alexander Johnson, who did not seek re-election.

The meeting, held amid an ongoing legal fight between the CEO and another top shareholder, Mayberry West Indies and its representatives on Access' board, was held behind closed doors and under tight security in the business district of New Kingston.

At least four armed guards from King Alarm were on site at the Courtleigh Hotel.

Peart, the company secretary, described the closed-door meeting as cordial at its mid-point, while shareholder Orrette Staple described the atmosphere as tense.

Peart reaffirmed after the meeting that the AGM ended on a cordial note. He said Goldson remains the chairman.