Mon | Oct 22, 2018

Dale Murphy new president of United Trainers' Association

Published:Friday | September 19, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Dale Murphy was on Tuesday elected president of the United Racehorse Trainers' Association at its bi-annual general meeting in the Trainers' Room at Caymanas Park. He succeeded Richard Todd, who stepped down after serving as president for the first four years of the association.

Murphy, the former treasurer, defeated Patrick Smellie by five votes. Smellie was elected first vice-president, Harry Parsard (second vice-president), Lorenzo Robinson (third vice-president), Albert Chong (general secretary) and Robert Darby Sr the new treasurer.

Completing the executive, which will serve for the next two years, are Bernard Vincent, Dennis Pryce and Lawrence Freemantle.