Sat | Sep 22, 2018

Johnson to lead Jaguars

Published:Tuesday | November 11, 2014 | 12:00 AM


Guyana's newest Test cricketer, Leon Johnson, will lead the Jaguars
franchise in the West Indies Cricket Board Professional Cricket League
(PCL) which starts on Friday.

Johnson, who debuted for West Indies in the second Test of the recent series against Bangladesh, has been appointed captain of the 13-man squad named for the revamped regional tournament.

Other players who boast Test experience on the team are Shiv Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Veerasammy Permaul and Devendra Bishoo.

Johnson, a 27-year-old batsman who began his Test career with a knock of 66, is leading a side that also includes 23-year-old Barbadian left-handed all-rounder Raymond Reifer, the only overseas player in the Guyana squad.

At 40, Chanderpaul, the most capped West Indian Test player with 156 Tests, is the oldest player in the Jaguars team.

Guyana failed to register a win in this year's Regional First-Class season and last won a First-Class tournament in 1998.

SQUAD: Leon Johnson (captain), Assad Fudadin (vice-captain), Rajindra Chandrika, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Raymond Reifer, Anthony Bramble (wkpr), Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Ronsford Beaton, Vishal Singh, Trevon Griffith.

The Guyana Jaguars play the Leeward Islands in the opening round of the PCL Four-Day Tournament from Friday, at the Guyana National Stadium in Providence.