Tue | Oct 16, 2018

St Thomas Boxing Club wins national junior championships

Published:Wednesday | November 19, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Leroy Brown, Gleaner Writer

Boxers from the recently formed St Thomas Boxing Club, led by coach Robert Napier, held their own last Saturday night against stiff competition to emerge champions at the National Junior Boxing Championships put on by the Jamaica Boxing Board at the Stanley Couch gym in Kingston.

Second place went to Boys' Town and third place to Stanley Couch. The other teams that participated were Sugar Knockout and G.C. Foster.

The championships saw boxers from ages 14 to 17 participating, and for some of them, it was their first night in competition. The boxers, who attend high schools in the Corporate Area, St Thomas and St Catherine, are affiliated to and train at the various gyms.

Competition was keen throughout and several of the boxers showed promise of great things to come. Only one of the bouts did not go the distance. This was the light flyweight contest between Jevon Goldson from Stanley Couch and Shagiver Dobson from Sugar Knockout. Dobson was the taller boxer and tried to use his jabs to take him to victory.

Hard Punch

Goldson, who is a smart boxer with good ring movement, made himself an elusive target, however, and used repeated body attacks to score points. He was always a step ahead of Dobson, and in the third round, he caught Dobson with a hard right to the body that obviously hurt. Dobson showed signs of distress and referee Ransford Burton stepped in and stopped the contest.

Daniel Hylton from Stanley Couch, who is a student at Donald Quarrie High School, showed a lot of promise in his points victory over Anthony Burke from St Thomas and was voted the outstanding boxer of the tournament.

A special presentation of a plaque was made to Captain Lawrence Bailey (retired), of the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF), for his service to boxing. Bailey, who boxed for the JDF, is a former AIBA International referee/judge.

Other results were: Hasani Barnes (Sugar Knockout) beat Shadine Nash (Stanley Couch); Josemar Whiton (St Thomas) beat Jermaine Barham (Boys' Town); Sheldon Smart (Boys' Town) beat Kirk Clarke (St Thomas); Joseph Coley (Boys' Town) beat Shamarie Wallace (Sugar Knockout); Kagale Thomas (Sugar Knockout) beat Jevaughn Robinson (St Thomas); Carlton Reid (St Thomas) beat Deveney Patterson (St Thomas); Jevaughn Jackson (Boys' Town) beat Brandon Gordon (St Thomas); Orlando Dixon (Boys' Town) beat Chanderpaul Reid (G.C. Foster) and Jerone Ennis (Stanley Couch) beat Davian Thomas (Boys' Town).