Tue | Sep 18, 2018

West Indies fail in run chase

Published:Saturday | January 17, 2015 | 12:00 AM

DURBAN, South Africa (CMC):

West Indies failed to negotiate a tricky run chase and lost the rain-hit opening one-day international against South Africa by 61 runs under the Duckworth/Lewis method on Friday.

Needing to score at nearly seven runs an over to get a revised target of 229 off 33 overs, the West Indies faltered after an enterprising 51-run opening stand, to slump to 164 off 28.2 overs at Kingsmead.

Shotgun opener Chris Gayle blasted a typically swift top score of 41 off 24 deliveries, Denesh Ramdin hit 31 from 32 balls and Gayle's opening partner Dwayne Smith chipped in with 29 off 38 balls, but the Caribbean side lost their last nine wickets for 113 runs.

Fast bowler Vernon Philander was South Africa's leading bowler with three for 44 while leg-spinner Imran Tahir picked up two for 22.

Rain had earlier stymied South Africa's efforts to reach the 300-run mark, ending the innings on 279 for eight off 48.2 overs.

Captain AB de Villiers top scored with 81 off 94 balls.



H. Amla run out 66R. Rossouw b Taylor 0F. du Plessis lbw b Taylor 0+A.B. de Villiers c Russell b Benn 81D. Miller c Smith b Holder 70J.P. Duminy c wkp Ramdin b Russell 12F. Behardien run out 12V. Philander c Johnson b Russell 4D. Steyn not out 6M. Morkel not out 2Extras (b4, lb11, w11) 26Total (8 wkts, 48.2 overs) 279

Did not bat: Imran Tahir

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-16, 3-115, 4-238, 5-246, 6-262, 7-271, 8-272.

Bowling: Taylor 9.2-0-50-2, Holder 9-1-52-1 (w3), Russell 10-0-51-2 (w2), Sammy 10-0-52-0 (w1), Benn 10-0-59-1 (w3).


(target: 229 off 33 overs)

D. Smith lbw b Imran Tahir 29C. Gayle c wk de Villiers b Steyn 41L. Johnson lbw b Philander 0M. Samuels run out 12+D. Ramdin b Imran Tahir 31J. Carter st de Villiers b Imran Tahir 17D. Sammy c wk de Villiers b Philander 4A. Russell c wk de Villiers b Philander 19J. Holder c Miller b Steyn 2J. Taylor c wkde Villiers b Steyn 2S. Benn not out 0Extras (b1, lb1, w5) 7Total (all out; 28.2 overs) 164

Fall of wickets: 1-51, 2-53, 3-85, 4-89, 5-118, 6-126, 7-148, 8-161, 9-164, 10-164.

Bowling: Philander 6-0-44-3, Morkel 5-0-36-0 (w1), Steyn 5.2-1-27-3 (w1), Duminy 6-0-25-0 (w1), Imran Tahir 6-0-30-3 (w1).

Result: South Africa won by 61 runs (D/L method)

Series: South Africa lead five-match series 1-0.

Man of the Match: A.B. de Villiers.

Toss: South Africa.

Umpires: J Cloete, S Ravi.

TV umpire: S Davis.