Jamaica '98
The Government of Jamaica
Shadow Ministers of State
Compiled by The Gleaner Online

Home | '97 Election Watch | Members of Parliament | Ministers' Page | Shadow Cabinet

JLP names 14 Shadow Ministers of State

A 14 member slate of persons to act as Shadow Ministers of State for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) was announced by Opposition Leader Edward Seaga yesterday.

In a release, the party said the 14, which include Miss Enid Bennett who retired from representational politics in November, constitute a mix of candidates in the past election and other persons with specialised skills.

Mr. Seaga named Miss Bennett as State Minister Without Portfolio, sent Arthur Williams Jnr. to National Security, Dr. Horace Chang to speak on Housing, Hyacinth Knight to take charge of Social Development and Welfare, Derrick Sangster to Agriculture, and Prudence Kidd-Deans, Attorney General and Women's Affairs.


Ernest Smith was named Shadow State Minister for Mining and Energy; Alfred Chin, Housing; Travis Spence, Development and Lands; Russell Hadeed, Public Utilities; Captain Rupert Francis, Local Government; Charles HoShing, Education, Science and Technology; Dennis Wright, Transportation, and Michael Belnavis, Tourism and Environment. The release said the total number of persons selected as Shadow Ministers and Ministers of State are within the maximum number proposed in the Constitutional Reform Programme. Early last month, Mr. Seaga named 20 people to the JLP's Shadow Cabinet.