Latest: Sports

CRICKET: No major awards for WI players at ICC awards ceremony

Published: Friday December 13, 2013 | 2:58 pm Comments 0

There were no major awards for West Indies players at the 2013 International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards ceremony.

Jamaica and West Indies player Stafanie Taylor, who was vying for the 2013 ICC Women's One-Day International Cricketer of the Year, lost out to New Zealand captain and all-rounder Suzie Bates.

England wicket-keeper Sarah Taylor was named women's Twenty20 player of the year for the second year running.

Australia captain Michael Clarke was named the ICC's player of the year for 2013.

Clarke, currently playing in his 100th Test against England in Perth, scored 1,559 runs at an average of 70.86 in the 12 months to 25 August.

Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara was voted the limited-overs international cricketer of the year.

England's Alastair Cook, also playing in his 100th Test in Perth, was recently named captain of the ICC's Test team of the year.


Like our new Facebook page:
Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter:


Share |

The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner.
The Gleaner reserves the right not to publish comments that may be deemed libelous, derogatory or indecent. Please keep comments short and precise. A maximum of 8 sentences should be the target. Longer responses/comments should be sent to "Letters of the Editor" using the feedback form provided.
blog comments powered by Disqus



Top Jobs

View all Jobs