Thu | Sep 20, 2018

Guyana, Trinidad aim high

Published:Friday | March 25, 2011 | 12:00 AM


Their contrasting positions in the table will have little bearing on how Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago approach their seventh-round match in the WICB Regional first-class championship, starting today at Guyana National Stadium.

Guyana are at the bottom on the eight-team ladder with 16 points, and T&T are fourth on 40 points, but both sides have plenty to prove in this match.

The home team will finish last for the third consecutive year if they suffer their fourth loss this season, and this is enough of an incentive to make them fight harder.

The visitors are looking to regain their fire from earlier in the season after losing in the fifth round against Leeward Islands, and conceding first-innings points in a draw against Jamaica in their previous match.

Since the semi-finals will be hosted by the two higher-placed teams, T&T have an additional incentive for victory, particularly if Jamaica and Combined Campuses & Colleges struggle in their matches.

The Guyanese selectors have opted for an unchanged squad from the one which failed against the CCC by eight runs in their last match, giving the senior batsmen a final chance to prove their worth.

T&T have also stuck with the squad that travelled to Kingston, and they will be buoyed after coming close to a come-from-behind victory when three of Jamaican bowlers broke down in their second-innings chase.

Guyana can gain confidence from the knowledge that T&T have beaten them only once in the last decade.

Three years ago, Daren Ganga's side topped the Guyanese by nine wickets at Queen's Park Oval in a keen contest.

Although Guyana have won four matches during the same period, T&T have consistently done better in the last five years, taking first-innings points in three of four draws.


Guyana (from): Assad Fudadin (captain), Ronsford Beaton, Brandon Bess, Rajendra Chandrika, Derwin Christian, Narsingh Deonarine, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson, Keon Joseph, Zaheer Mohammed, Veerasammy Permaul, Richard Ramdeen, Vishaul Singh

Trinidad and Tobago (from): Daren Ganga (captain), Atiba Alert, Nicholas Alexis, Yannic Cariah, Rayad Emrit, Shannon Gabriel, Sherwin Ganga, Imran Khan, Amit Jaggernauth, Tishan Maraj, Jason Mohammed, Denesh Ramdin, Lendl Simmons