Thu | Jan 17, 2019

Warning from T&T Red Force

Published:Saturday | January 3, 2015 | 12:00 AM

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, (CMC):

The country's cricket chief Azim Bassarath has warned that Trinidad and Tobago Red Force will be the team to beat in the NAGICO Super50, with the news that five senior players will be available for the tournament starting later this month.

All-rounders Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo, champion off-spinner Sunil Narine, fast bowler Ravi Rampaul and stroke-maker Darren Bravo have all indicated they will play in the January 15-24 championship.

"I am delighted with the fact that the senior guys will be here for this tournament and on paper we have the team to win the title," Bassarath told the Trinidad Guardian newspaper. "However, experience would tell that you can have all the big names, but it all comes down to what you do on the day, and we will be hoping that our players prepare well, go into the games a focused lot, and bring home the title this time around."

Both Pollard and Dwayne Bravo are currently campaigning in the Australian Big Bash League, and were both recently overlooked for the West Indies one-day series against South Africa.


Darren Bravo will be getting his first taste of competitive cricket since the abandoned tour of India in October, after pulling out of the ongoing Test tour of South Africa and making himself unavailable for the first four rounds of the WICB Professional Cricket League.

Narine also has not played since being reported for a suspected illegal bowling action during the Champions Twenty20 last September, while Rampaul has also been out of action since October, after taking part in the abandoned tour of India.

T&T will be hoping to go one step further in this years Super50 after losing in the final last year to Barbados.

"We had a very good tournament last time around, until that final period where we lost a very close final to Barbados," said Bassarath.

T&Ts squad is expected to be announced shortly.

The hosts have been installed in Group B alongside Jamaica Franchise, Leeward Islands Hurricanes and West Indies Under-19s.

Group A, meanwhile, will feature Barbados Pride, Combined Campuses & Colleges, Guyana Jaguars and Windward Islands Volcanoes.