Tue | Apr 7, 2020

Gayle, Bravo included in All Star team

Published:Monday | June 22, 2009 | 12:22 PM

West Indies captain Chris Gayle and all rounder Dwayne Bravo have been included in an All-Star team selected by the International Cricket Council following the 20/20 World Cup, which ended in England yesterday.

Pakistan, who defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the final, received four selections in captain Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal and Umar Gul.

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Ajantha Mendis will represent Sri Lanka in the team.

The team is completed by Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers and Wayne Parnell from South Africa.

Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga has been selected as the 12th man.

Meanwhile, England have received five selections on the women’s all star team.

England won the Women’s 20/20 World Cup by easily defeating New Zealand in the final.

Captain Charlotte Edwards, Claire Taylor, wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor, Laura Marsh and Holly Colvin will represent England on the team.

Representing the Kiwis are Aimee Watkins, Suzi Bates, Lucy Doolan and Sian Ruck.

The remaining members of the team are Shelley Nitschke of Australia and Rumeli Dhar of India.