Tue | Mar 31, 2020

WI name provisional squad for Champion Trophy

Published:Tuesday | July 21, 2009 | 9:00 AM

Leading fast bowler Fidel Edwards and recently axed pacer Daren Powell were among a 30-man provisional squad named by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) to prepare for the Champions Trophy scheduled for South Africa.

Powell is one of four Jamaicans named in the squad. The others are Nikita Miller, David Bernard Junior and Brenton Parchment.

Edwards was unavailable for the Bangladesh series through injury while Powell was dropped after England’s tour of the Caribbean earlier this year.

As expected, the squad is without several West Indies first choice players who refused to play the just concluded two-Test series against Bangladesh in a dispute with the WICB over pay and contract issues.

The bulk of the squad comprises the players who contested the Bangladesh series.

The Champions Trophy bowls off on September 22 and runs until October 5.