Sat | Apr 4, 2020

West Indies name squad for first ODI

Published:Tuesday | July 21, 2009 | 12:23 PM

The West Indies selectors have named 14 players for the first and second Digicel One-Day International matches against Bangladesh in Dominica on Sunday, July 26 and Tuesday, July 28.

Floyd Reifer, who led the side in the Test series that the Caribbean team lost, is retained as captain.

All-rounder Darren Sammy, a standout in the test series with two five-wicket hauls, is again Reifer\'s deputy.

Veteran all-rounder Rawle Lewis and batsmen Devon Smith and Andre Fletcher, who did not feature in the Test matches, are among the more experienced players joining the unit for the games.

Three players from the Leeward Islands have won their first senior recognition.

They are wicket keeper Devon Thomas and left-handed batsman Kieran Powell, both 19, and powerfully built fast bowler Gavin Tonge.

The squad is without the West Indies first choice players who refused to play the just concluded two-Test series against Bangladesh in a dispute with the West Indies Cricket Board over pay and contract issues.

The remaining members of the squad are David Bernard Junior, Travis Dowlin, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Dale Richards and Kemar Roach.