Wed | Oct 21, 2020

Finance ministry shake-up

Published:Tuesday | August 11, 2009 | 6:05 PM

The Finance Ministry appears to be in turmoil as the bulk of its senior management has either bailed out or retired in a series of changes.

All five deputy financial secretaries in the ministry have either been shunted, resigned or retired from their positions.

Reliable Gleaner Power 106 sources say Deputy Financial Secretary in charge of the Economic Division, Darlene Morrison has been acting as financial secretary following the removal of Sharon Crooks late last week.

This morning Prime Minister Bruce Golding confirmed that Mrs Crooks is to be replaced after serving in the post for just under two years.

He’s however yet to say who will replace her but said details of the changes will be provided next week.

Deputy Financial Secretary Ann-Marie Rhoden who has responsibility for Public Enterprises has been transferred to the Post and Telecommunications Department.

Another Deputy Financial Secretary Paul Lai who is in charge of taxation has tendered his resignation, while Jonathan Brown who has responsibility for debt, has opted for early retirement.

The fifth Deputy Financial Secretary Dennis Townsend has also retired.

Sharon Crooks has been offered a position as permanent secretary in the mining ministry but sources say she’s baulking at the prospect.