Wed | Jun 3, 2020

Bolt, Foster-Hylton win Sportsman and Sportswoman awards

Published:Friday | January 15, 2010 | 8:38 AM

Double sprint world record holder, Usain Bolt and Brigitte Foster-Hylton were last night crowned the 2009 Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year.

The announcement was made at the RJR Sports Foundation’s 49th annual National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards ceremony at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.

Bolt won the award for a second consecutive year, after another unmatched season, which saw him lowering his own world records in the 100 metres and 200 metres at the IAAF World Championships in Berlin, Germany.

West Indies Captain, Chris Gayle was named runner-up to the Sportsman of the Year.

Foster-Hylton, who won the 100 metres hurdles gold medal at the World Championships in Berlin, took the Sportswoman of the Year title ahead of World Championships 400 metres hurdles gold medal winner, Melaine Walker.

Foster Hylton closed her season in style with seven consecutive wins along the circuit following her triumph in Berlin.

Bolt was also presented with the People’s Choice Awards.