Sun | Jan 20, 2019

Jamaican Carib Beer and 20/20 squads named

Published:Monday | December 17, 2007 | 1:07 PM

Offspinner Gavin Wallace is the only new player included in a Jamaica 18-member squad for next year’s regional four-day Carib Beer Series.

The squad sees the return of discarded West Indies players Wavell Hinds and Jermaine Lawson.

Hinds returns after serving a three-month ban, while Lawson was included after missing the KFC Cup due to injury.

Tamar Lambert will captain the side in the absence of Chris Gayle, who is currently in South Africa with the other four Jamaican Test players.

The squad also includes Australian-born Brendan Nash, Nikita Miller, Andrew Richardson, Carlton Baugh and opening batsman Xavier Marshall.

The remaining players are Shawn Findlay, Danza Hyatt, Donovan Pagon, Bevon Brown, Donovan Sinclair, Odean Brown, Andre Russell and David Bernard Junior.

Jamaica will open against the Leeward Islands at Sabina Park on January 4.

The Jamaican selectors also named 16 players for the 2008 Stanford Twenty/Twenty tournament in Antigua from January 25 to February 24.

The squad includes five West Indies players in Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Darren Powell and Brenton Parchment.

JoWayne Robinson is the only new face, while Lawson was left out.

The Carib Beer Series will go on a break on January 21 after three rounds to facilitate the cash-rich Stanford tournament.