Fri | Sep 22, 2017

Seven Opposition senators named

Published:Monday | January 16, 2012 | 1:47 PM

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

Opposition Leader Andrew Holness has announced the names of seven persons who will be sworn in as Opposition senators tomorrow.

The list includes Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) deputy leader Dr. Christopher Tufton and deputy chairman Robert Montague. Both men lost in their bid to be reelected to the House of Representatives in the December 29 general election.

The other five persons named by Holness are Arthur Williams, who will be the Leader of Opposition business in Senate, Marlene Malahoo Forte, Kamina Johnson Smith, Tom Tavares Finson and Kavan Gayle.

The eight senator is to be named at a later date, a release from the Office of the Leader of the Opposition said.

"The Opposition leader said that he is confident that his team will vigorously and constructively carry out its duties in the Upper House and make the Opposition effective in its role as watchdog of our democracy," the statement said.

In the meantime, Holness has not named JLP general secretary Aundre Franklin to the Senate, and it remains to be seen whether he would secure the eighth spot.

Former senators Dwight Nelson, Dorothy Lightbourne, Ian Murray, Hyacinth Bennett and Warren Newby appear to have been overlooked by Holness.