Mon | Oct 15, 2018

FOOTBALL: Jamaica to host CFU Under-17 qualifiers

Published:Monday | August 18, 2014 | 12:31 PM

Jamaica will host Group One of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-17 Qualifiers to the 2015 FIFA Under-17 World Cup.

The tournament will be held from August 21-28 at the Anthony Spalding Sports Complex.

The group comprises host nation Jamaica, Guadeloupe, US Virgin Islands and the Cayman Islands.

Jamaica will open its campaign on August 23 against the US Virgin Islands.

Jamaica’s other matches are against the Cayman Islands on August 25 and Guadeloupe on August 27.

The CFU Qualifiers comprise five groups.

The winner of each group will automatically advance the Final Qualifiers to be held in Haiti in late September.

The Final qualifiers will be made up of eight teams consisting of the five winners of the five Groups; host nation Haiti and the two best runner up teams from all Groups.

Cuba, Martinique and Barbados have already qualified to the Final Round.

WATCH: The Gleaner Minute

Follow us on Twitter:


Follow us on Instagram:


Watch our videos on YouTube:

Jamaica Gleaner