Thu | Aug 16, 2018

New Haitian government to be sworn in

Published:Monday | January 19, 2015 | 1:07 PM

Haitian President Michel Martelly has named an 18-member Cabinet that will be sworn into office later on today.

Martelly used the social network Facebook to announce the new Cabinet on Sunday, less than a week after Parliament was dissolved at the end of its term, leaving the French-speaking Caribbean Community (CARICOM) country without a functioning government.

Martelly, who is ruling by decree, named several of his former ministers to the new Cabinet, headed by Prime Minister Evans Paul, who replaced Laurent Lamothe, who resigned in December.

The Haitian President also named 16 secretaries to the new government even as opposition forces continued their street demonstrations calling for his removal from office.

Martelly’s critics have accused him of stalling the elections even as he had been meeting with several social and political groups in a bid to pave the way for the holding of the long-delayed election to renew two-thirds of the 30-member Senate, the entire Lower Chamber and hundreds of local government bodies

Last week a US-brokered deal to extend the life of parliament and call new elections failed when parts of the opposition refused to approve it.

However, Fanmi Lavalas, the party that was once led by former president Jean Bertrand Aristide and which has been at the forefront of anti-government protests, said it was not part of the agreement.


Follow us on Twitter:


Follow us on Instagram:


Watch our videos on YouTube:

Jamaica Gleaner

Email us: