Thu | Dec 2, 2021

Opposition party wins BVI elections

Published:Tuesday | February 26, 2019 | 12:14 PM
Andrew Fahie - CMC photo

TORTOLA, British Virgin Islands, CMC –Eight years after it was swept out of power, the Virgin Islands Party (VIP) headed by Andrew Fahie won Monday’s general election.

The party won eight of the 13 seats at stake.

The party, which formed the government between  2007-11, won four district seats and four Territorial At-large seats, while the incumbent National Democratic Party won three seats.

The other two seats were won by the Progressive United and the Progressive Virgin Islands Movement.

In the First District, Fahie received 752 votes easily defeating Sylvia Moses who received 141 votes and Stephanie Brewley who got a mere 28 votes.

Fahie, 48, is expected to be sworn in as the new Premier later on Tuesday.

He was last December ousted as Opposition Leader following the split within the then ruling democratic party with Ronnie Skelton leading a faction and became the largest opposition party in Parliament.

The VIP was one of four political parties that contested the elections held after Premier Dr Orlando Smith decided to forego a by-election for the Fifth Electoral District that became vacant last October following the death of Representative Delores Chris.

Smith did not contest Monday’s polls after having indicated in June last year that he would be stepping down.

Electoral officials said 25 candidates from four political parties as well as a lone independent contested the election in nine districts, while 15 candidates contested the poll as At-Large Candidates.

It is the first time in the history of the BVI that four political parties contested an election.

The election was the first general election in the territory to use electronically tabulated voting rather than manual counts.

We want to hear from you! Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169, email us at or