Fri | Jan 28, 2022

Musgrave Award winners honoured

Published:Thursday | May 25, 2017 | 12:00 AM

This year’s Musgrave Award winners stood tall and proud, as they were honoured earlier this evening at the Institute of Jamaica, East Street, Kingston.

Among those honoured were Frederick ‘Freddie’ McGregor, OD (Silver, Art/Music), Tanya Shirley, (Silver, Literature), Prof. Herbert Ho Ping Kong, OD (Gold, Science), Prof. Daniel Coore (Silver, Science), .Dr. Basil K. Bryan, OD (Bronze, Literature) and Eleanor Jones (Bronze, Science).

The Musgrave Medal is an annual award by the Institute of Jamaica in recognition of achievement in art, science, and literature.[1] 

Originally conceived in 1889 and named in memory of Sir Anthony Musgrave, the founder of the Institute and the former Governor of Jamaica who had died the previous year, the medal was the first to be awarded in the western hemisphere.