Wed | Sep 22, 2021

Eight to receive Musgrave medals

Published:Wednesday | October 21, 2015 | 12:00 AM

Renowned Caribbean scholar Professor Orlando Patterson and Jamaica's world famous Riddim Twins, Lowell 'Sly' Dunbar and Robert 'Robbie' Shakespeare headline this year's recipients of the Institute of Jamaica (IOJ) Musgrave Medals.

Eight persons will be receiving Musgrave medals with Professor Patterson, along with Sly and Robbie copping gold medals.

The other six awardees receiving silver medals are poet Dr Ralph Thompson; medical doctor Anthony Vendryes; jazz vocalist Dr Myrna Hague-Bradshaw; photographer Donnette Ingrid Zacca; choreographer Patricia 'Patsy' Ricketts; and architect Errol Charles Alberga Jr.

There is no bronze medal winner this year. The recipients will receive their medals at the awards ceremony which will be held next Wednesday at the IOJ Lecture Hall, Tower Street.

Patterson and Sly and Robbie are being recognised for distinguished eminence in literature and music, respectively.

Thompson will be acknowledged for outstanding merit in the field of literature; Vendryes for outstanding merit in the field of science; and Hague-Bradshaw for outstanding merit in the field of music.

Zacca is being recognised for outstanding merit in the field of photography, while Ricketts for outstanding merit in the field of dance.

The Musgrave Award is the oldest award of its kind in the Western Hemisphere and has become a quintessential part of Jamaica's history, having been in existence since 1889.

The award was introduced as a memorial to Sir Anthony Musgrave, governor of Jamaica from 1877-1883, who founded the Institute of Jamaica in 1879.