Sun | Jan 16, 2022

Simpson Miller, Davies end political career June 29

Published:Tuesday | June 13, 2017 | 12:00 AM
Simpson Miller

Former Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller and Dr Omar Davies, a senior figure in past People's National Party (PNP) administrations, will at the end of the month step down from representational politicals, after each serving more than 20 years in the House of Representatives.

Simpson Miller and Davies will officially demit office on June 29, when their letters of resignation will be handed to the speaker of the House.

"In accordance with our laws, such resignations, once handed to the speaker, become immediately effective, hence today's letters of intent and not resignations," Phillip Paulwell, the leader of opposition business in the Lower House, stated in a release to the media yesterday.


Simpson Miller, who entered representational politics in 1974 as a PNP councillor, was elected member of parliament (MP) for the South West St Andrew constituency in 1976. She succeeded P.J. Patterson as party leader in 2006.

Later that year, she was elected prime minister, becoming Jamaica's first female leader of government, an office she held until September 2007 when the PNP lost out to the Bruce Golding-led Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

Simpson Miller was again handed the country's top political job when the PNP defeated the JLP in the 2011 general election and she was returned as prime minister for a second time, serving from January 2012 to March 2016.

Davies, the South St Andrew MP, took over the constituency from Bobby Jones in 1993. He also held positions as a minister of transport, works and housing, and was a former minister of finance.

"Today, we are witnessing the beginning of a historical changing of the guard, when two sitting members of adjoining constituencies shall simultaneously take their bow on June 29, 2017, and so we wish them good health and strength in their retirement years," Paulwell said. "At a future date, the Parliament will pay tribute to both members for their services to the people, the Parliament, and Jamaica."