Sat | Oct 1, 2022

Brown Burke in Rise United camp as Bunting, Phillips nominated for PNP presidency

Published:Friday | July 26, 2019 | 12:00 AM
People's National Party General Secretary Julian Robinson in talks with presidential candidate Peter Bunting before his nomination this morning. Also in the photo is Basil Waite, PNP deputy general secretary - Ricardo Makyn photo.

Damion Mitchell, Integration Editor

St Andrew South West MP Dr Angela Brown Burke has declared support for Manchester Central Member of Parliament Peter Murcott Bunting in his bid to unseat incumbent Dr Peter David Phillips as president of the soon-to-be 81-year-old People’s National Party (PNP).

Brown Burke was among PNP delegates who endorsed Bunting’s nomination papers at the party’s Old Hope Road headquarters in St Andrew.

Bunting flocked by hundreds of his 'Rise United' supporters was the first candidate to be nominated.

Phillips followed shortly after.

Brown Burke’s endorsement for Bunting further divides the powerful PNP region three which is split between the two contenders.

Her declaration is significant if her endorsement reflects the preference of the organisation in her constituency, since St Andrew South West is among the constituencies with the largest number of party delegates.

Already, two of her councillors, Eugene Kelly of the Whitfield Town division and Payne Land division’s Audrey Smith Facey have declared that they are supporting Bunting.

However, region three’s Kingston Eastern and Port Royal MP Phillip Paulwell has endorsed Phillips.

There was much fanfare as both Phillips and Bunting went to be nominated.

Phillips’ supporters shouted “One Peter, one leader!” as music blared from marching band.

Bunting's backers also danced to the rhythms of a marching and chanted in support of him. 


Phillip Paulwell 
Natalie Neita 
Wykeham McNeill
Dwayne Vaz  
Lisa Hanna 
Dr Morais Guy 
Denise Daley
Anthony Hylton 
Andre Hylton

Joan Gordon-Webley
Valerie Neita-Robertson 
Dr Shane Alexis 
Wavell Hinds 
Imani Duncan-Price 
Valenton Wint 
Patricia Duncan-Sutherland 
Michael Hemmings 
Ewan Stephenson 

K.D. Knight 
Damion Crawford 
Donna Scott-Mottley 
Lambert Brown 
Sophia Frazer-Binns​
Floyd Morris 


Robert Pickersgill
Dr Angela Brown-Burke 
Mark Golding 
Dr Dayton Campbell
Ian Hayles 
Luther Buchanan
Colin Fagan 
Michael Stewart 
Ronald Thwaites 
Derrick Kellier

Dr Fenton Ferguson 
Richard Azan 
Noel Arscott
Victor Wright

Cannot declare because of secretariat 
Fitz Jackson - chairman 
Horace Dalley- deputy chairman 
Julian Robinson - general secretary 
Wensworth Skeffery - deputy general secretary 
Basil Waite - deputy general secretary 

*NOTE: An earlier version of this story had said Victor Wright is standing with Dr Peter Phillips. Wright has written to say he has not declared a preference in the current presidential campaign.

We want to hear from you! Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169, email us at or