Thu | Jun 8, 2023

Six make Munro College Old Boys' Hall of Fame

Published:Wednesday | November 11, 2015 | 12:00 AM
Senator Arthur Williams, president of the Munro College Old Boys' Association, is smartly attired in his school uniform as he takes a trip down memory lane, much to the delight of all present.
Inductees to the 2015 edition of the Munro College Old Boys' Association Hall of Fame: (Front row, from left) Richard Downer, representing inductee Dr John Ewen; Ambassador Burchell Whiteman; and Major General Robert Neish. (Back row, from left), Senator Arthur Williams, association president; Ryan White, Munro College board chairman; and Dr Brian Morgan, chairman of the Munro and Dickenson Trust, which governs Munro College and Hampton School.
Future Hall of Famers, perhaps? These current Munro senior students man the entrance to welcome guests to the function.

Six men who share the distinction of being Munro College Old Boys were inducted into their association's Hall of Fame at a brunch in the Richard B. Roper auditorium at Munro recently. It was the fourth year of Hall of Fame inductees for the Arthur Williams-led Old Boys' Association.

This year's inductees are former Munro head prefect, Ambassador Burchell Whiteman, for his services to education, politics and diplomacy.

Major General Robert Neish was inducted for service to the military, as well as his subsequent work in philanthropy and industrial research chemist.

John A. Ewen, PhD, was honoured for his inventions, scientific research, transforming the global plastics industry and being nominated for the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1993 and 2002, as well as for impacting the plastics industry.

Posthumous awards went to Dr Louis Aston Marantz Simpson, poet and literature professor, who earned a Bronze Star and two Purple Hearts fighting for the United States in World War II before winning the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 1964.

Ronald George 'Ron' Sturdy, attorney, footballer, tennis player, and pole vaulter, Rhodes scholar and war veteran.

Albert A 'Wagga' Harrison - student, teacher and first headmaster of Munro College who established the school as a leading brand. The former custos of St Elizabeth and war veteran was a brilliant mathematics teacher and one of six headmasters who started the annual athletics championships known as 'Champs'.

Other distinguished inductees include Richard B. Roper; John 'Jackie' Minott, Lloyd 'Lindy' Delapenha; Robert Hugh Munro, Professor Mervyn Morris, Anthony 'Tony' Hart, Hugh Hart, former Prime Minister Sir Donald Sangster, and William 'Billy' McConnell.