Sat | Jan 28, 2023

The Gleaner reigns at PAJ Awards

Published:Sunday | November 29, 2015 | 12:00 AM
The Gleaner's Tameka Gordon shows off her award for Young Journalist of the Year 2015.

The Gleaner on Saturday night dominated the 2015 Press Association of Jamaica Awards at the Courtleigh Auditorium in New Kingston, walking away with the top honours in ten categories.

Reporter, Christopher Serju was in the spotlight taking multiple awards, while business reporter, Tameka Gordon was adjudged young journalist of the year for their work which was among more than 200 pieces entered this year.

Chief Judge, Patrick Harley, noted that there was a tremendous increase in the number of entries over last year but noted that overall, the quality was variable.

Here's the list of this year’s National Journalism Awards winners:

The Carl Wint Award for Human Interest Feature Stories
Christopher Serju – The Gleaner (Print)
Zahra Burton – 18 Degrees North (Electronic)

Best Television/Radio Feature
Edgar Lewis – JNN

The Best Entertainment Story
Curtis Campbell - The Gleaner

Junior Dowie Award for Sports Photography
Ricardo Makyn – The Gleaner

Ken Dawson Award for Videography
Omar Green – Jamaica Information Service

Best Cover Design (Newspapers)
Rorie Atkinson – Jamaica Observer

Aston Rhoden Award for News Photography
Brian Cummings – Jamaica Observer

Errol Harvey Award for Human Interest Photography
Jermaine Barnaby – The Gleaner

Morris Cargill for Opinion Journalism
Gordon Robinson – The Gleaner

Award for Excellence in Reporting on the Environment
Christopher Serju – The Gleaner

Award for Excellence in Reporting on Children’s Rights
Kayon Raynor – TVJ

Award for Excellence in Reporting on Health and Wellness
Nadine Wilson Harris – The Gleaner

Award for Excellence in Reporting on Agriculture
Christopher Serju – The Gleaner (Print)
Anjuii James Sawyers – Jamaica Information Service (Electronic)

Best News Website
Jamaica Observer

Excellence in Reporting on Technology
Marilyn Facey – RJR
Kaneal Gayle – Business Access TV

Best News, Sports and Current Affairs Blog
Zaheer Clarke for Zaheer’s facts, lies and statistics

President’s Award for Investigative Journalism
Khalilah Enriques – Nationwide News Network

Hugh Crosskill/Raymond Sharpe Award for Sports Journalism
Donald Oliver – CVM TV

Theodore Seally/Hector Bernard Award for News
Andre Jebbinson – TVJ (Electronic)
Christopher Serju – Jamaica Gleaner (Print)
Kimberly Hibbert – Jamaica Observer (Print)

Special Lifetime Achievement Award
Barbara Gloudon

Young Journalist of the Year
Tameka Gordon – The Gleaner

Journalist of the Year
Tyrone Reid – CVM TV