Sat | Sep 23, 2023

PM expands HEART Trust board

Published:Tuesday | January 25, 2022 | 8:10 AM
Six members have been added to the board, increasing the composition from nine to 15.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness has announced an expanded board of the HEART NSTA Trust. 

Six members have been added to the board increasing the composition from nine to 15.

This morning, The Gleaner reported that Professor Alvin Wint is the new chairman of the controversy-riddled entity.

READ: Alvin Wint is new HEART chairman

Wint replaces Edward Gabbidon who resigned amid concerns about HEART's relationship with his company, SynCon Technologies.

His appointment coincides with the presentation of the Jamaica Education Transformation Commission report.

It made several recommendations for a review of the operations of the HEART/NSTA Trust.

The board is tasked with driving efficiency and strategic changes to meet the training needs of Jamaica.

The Office of the Prime Minister said the board is also expected to ensure that policy directives are followed by management.

Full board
1. Professor Alvin Wint (Chairman)
2. Professor Colin Gyles
3. Dr Merrit Henry, Educator
4. Gloria Henry, Business process industry expert
5. Professor Aldrie Henry-Lee, Head of SALISES, UWI
6. Professor Halden Morris, TVET expert 
7. Senator Kavan Gayle
8. Dr Kofi Nkrumah Young
9. Georgia Gibson Henlin, QC
10. Wayne Robertson, Permanent Secretary (acting) Ministry of Legal and Constitutional Affairs
11. Dr Eleasia Charles
12. Marlon Morgan
13. Brian Bennett-Easy
14. Kathryn Williams
15. Clement 'Jimmy' Lawrence CD

Follow The Gleaner on Twitter and Instagram @JamaicaGleaner and on Facebook @GleanerJamaica. Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169 or email us at or