Wed | Mar 29, 2023

TVJ's Giovanni Dennis cops PAJ Journalist of the Year award

Published:Sunday | February 5, 2023 | 10:42 AM
Giovanni Dennis at last year's awards.

Television Jamaica's Giovanni Dennis is the 2022 Journalist of the Year.

He was also awarded the President's Award for Investigative Journalism, Excellence in Reporting on the Environment, and the Hector Bernard/Theodore Sealy Award for News for the television category.

The RJRGLEANER Group won the lion's share of the honours, with The Gleaner copping seven awards. Janet Silvera and Kimone Francis each won two awards for the newspaper.

The announcements were made at the National Journalism Awards at The Courtleigh Auditorium in New Kingston Saturday evening.

Romardo Lyons of the Jamaica Observer was awarded Young Journalist of the Year.

List of winners:

Carl Wint Award: Leevan Rainford (video) and Kimone Francis (print).

Best Radio Feature: Ricardo Brooks.

Best Television Feature: Donald Oliver. 

Ken Dawson Award for Videography: Leevan Rainford.

Junior Dowie Award for Sports Photography: Gladstone Taylor.

Aston Rhoden Award for News Photography: Rudolph Brown.

Errol Harvey Award: Ashley Anglin.

Morris Cargill Award for Opinion Journalism: Ricardo Brooks.

Award for Best Breaking News: Janet Silvera.

Theodore Sealy-Hector Bernard Award for News: Janet Silvera.

Award for Excellence in Reporting on Children's Rights: Myesha Broadie.

Award for Excellence in Reporting on Health and Wellness: Nationwide News.

Award for Excellence in Reporting on the Agriculture: Vashan Brown, Glenford Campbell and Jelani Campbell.

Excellence in Reporting on Technology: Kelesha Williams, Uton West and Milton Reid.

Carlton Alexander Award for Finance and Business: Kimone Francis.

Hugh Crosskill/Raymond Sharpe Award for Sports Journalism: Jerome Foster (electronic) and Sherdon Cowan (print).

Follow The Gleaner on Twitter and Instagram @JamaicaGleaner and on Facebook @GleanerJamaica. Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169 or email us at or