Fri | Dec 8, 2023

Bolt, Fraser-Pryce head strong World Relays squad

Published:Thursday | April 23, 2015 | 12:00 AMAndre Lowe, Special Projects Editor - Sports

Sprinting superstars Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce head Jamaica’s  44-member team to the second installment of the IAAF World Relays set for Nassau, The Bahamas from May 2 – 3.

The team, which comprises 23 male and 21 female athletes will be looking to better last year’s 41 points, which landed them in second position to the United States (60 points) at the event, set for the Thomas A. Robinson Stadium.

Bolt, who declared his availability a few days ago, will return to The Bahamas for the first time since the 2005 Central America and Caribbean Games, while two schoolboys, Twayne Crooks from Kingston College and St Jago’s Nathon Allen have been included in the 4x400m squad.

Three of the four members of last year’s 4x200m world record breaking team (1:18.63), Warren Weir, Nickel Ashmeade and Jermaine Brown return to the squad, which also includes the fast-improving trio of Julian Forte, Andrew Fisher and Kimarley Brown.

Commonwealth Games champions Rasheed Dwyer (200m) and Kemar Bailey-Cole (100m), quarter-mile talents Javon Fracis, Javere Bell and Edino Steele along with relay veteran and World Championships 100m bronze medallist Nesta Carter are the other big names on the male team.

Fraser-Pryce, who competed in the third-place-finishing 4x200m team last year is joined by stalwarts Veronica Campbell-Brown and Sherone Simpson, with world leader Elaine Thompson (10.92) all looking to make a mark at the meet.

Commonwealth 400m champion Stephenie-Ann McPherson and Diamond League winner, Novlene Williams-Mills, along with youngsters Shericka Jackson – making her second appearance at the meet - Christania Williams and Janieve Russell have also been named in the squad.

Kemar Bailey-Cole
Usain Bolt
Kimarley Brown
Nesta Carter
Andrew Fisher
Julian Forte
Nickel Ashmeade
Jermaine Brown
Rasheed Dwyer
Jason Livermore
Warren Weir
Nathon Allen
Javere Bell
Javon Francis
Jonia McDonald
Rusheen McDonald
Edino Steele
Ricardo Chambers
Twayne Crooks
Ricardo Cunningham
Jo-Wayne Hibbert
Jeromia Riley
Andre Thomas

Veronica Campbell-Brown
Simone Facey
Natasha Morrison
Kerron Stewart
Elaine Thompson
Christania Williams
Scillonie Calvert
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Samantha Henry-Robinson
Sherone Simpson
Shericka Williams
Anastasia Le-Roy
Stephenie Ann McPherson
Janieve Russell
Novlene Williams-Mills
Simoya Campbell
Natoya Goule
Samantha James
Kimarra McDonald
Shericka Jackson
Christine Day

The team will be managed by experienced administrator Marie Tavares with Gary White named as her assistant.

Maurice Wilson will travel as the technical leader with Michael Clarke heading a coaching panel that includes Bert Cameron, Jermaine Shand and Paul Francis.

Dr Chin Kingsley was named official team doctor, Pier - Ann Brown (physiotherapist), Nathaniel Davis (Masseur), Marland Thomas (Masseur) Collin Turner (Masseur) and Julian Patrick (press liaison) also making the unit.