Sun | Jun 26, 2022

Clarks Town cop Trelawny Major League title

Published:Monday | July 6, 2015 | 2:37 PMPaul Clarke

Western Bureau:

It took a dramatic penalty shoot-out to decide the 2014-15 Trelawny FA Monymusk Plantation Rum Major League champions as Clarks Town FC got the better of Coopers Pen

3-1 after the teams ended regulation tied at 2-2.

Both clubs entered the return leg locked at 0-0 and all to play for. But as anticipated, it was Clarks Town that struck first. Dhane Johnson smashed home to break the deadlock in the 16th minute.

Then a mere three minutes later, Coopers Pen brought the game back to parity when AndrÈ Palmer scored in the 19th minute. Coopers Pen dominated after their equaliser and went on to steal the lead in surprising fashion. This time it was Cecil Noble who would score to give his team a 2-1 lead at half-time.

Palmer struck again for Coopers Pen in the 68th minute to level the scores after the break, sending the match into extra time. With neither team able to break the deadlock, the game was sent into the dreaded penalty kicks.

A delighted Trelawny FA president Linnel McLean was full of praise for what he called a remarkable season.

"From the start of the season, we knew it would have been an exciting one. The sponsors, Monymusk Plantation Rum, did their part in making it a success, and, of course, teams like these today made it worthwhile," McLean said.

Also on Sunday, Fire FC crowned themselves champions of the National Rum Division One after edging Daniel Town 1-0 in the final.