Tue | Sep 28, 2021

FOOTBALL: Jamaica's starting 11 against El Salvador, Mattocks replaces Dawkins

Published:Tuesday | July 14, 2015 | 12:00 AMAudley Boyd, Assistant Editor - Sport

TORONTO, Canada:

There has been one change to Jamaica's starting team for this evening's CONCACAF Gold Cup Group B football match against El Salvador at BMO Field.

Darren Mattocks, who represents Canada-based Major League Soccer franchise, Vancouver Whitecaps, replaces Simon Dawkins.

Mattocks has scored in all three matches he has played at this stadium for the Whitecaps in MLS action against the other Canadian MLS franchise, Toronto FC.

At a press conference on the eve of the match, he said he was looking to continue his form in the Jamaica shirt.

“I’m based in Vancouver. It’s gonna be a small homecoming to come to Toronto and at BMO field. I’ve scored three goals in three games,” he admitted, at the press conference after training yesterday at Toronto FC’s training facility.

“I think I got the goal against Toronto (in the one-zero last season, so it’s a pitch that I’m very much used to, and also scoring on,” he pointed out.

“But tomorrow it’ll not be Vancouver, this is Jamaica and I’ll all be focused on playing for Jamaica and doing well.

“Hopefully I’ll get a chance to continue doing what I’ve been doing at BMO field and that’s to continue putting the ball in the back of the net.”

Now, Mattocks gets his chance.

The Jamaica match precedes the feature contest between Costa Rica and hosts Canada, which is set to kick off at 8:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m. Jamaica time).

Jamaica, which lead the group, have already qualified for the second round, based on results in last night's Group A matches.

The Reggae Boyz have four points, while El Salvador and Costa Rica are tied on two, followed by Canada on one point.

The top two teams from the group are certain to advance beyond to the quarter-finals, while the third-placed team stands a chance of moving forward as one of two best third-place teams in the 12-team championship.

The preliminary stage ends tomorrow with Group C matches.

GK - Dwayne Miller, Adrian Mariappa, Kemar Lawrence, Wes Morgan, Jermaine Taylor, Rodolph Austin (captain), Je-Vaughn Watson, Garath McCleary, Joel (Jobi) McAnuff, Giles Barnes, Darren Mattocks.

GK - Derby Carillo, Xavier Garcia, Milton Molina, Alexander Mendoza, Richard Menjivar, Darwin Ceren, Jaime Alas, Alexander Larin, Andres Flores (captain), Irvin Herrera, Pabo Punyed.