Fri | Sep 24, 2021

JC hunt Super Cup glory again

Published:Friday | October 23, 2015 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp
Members of the Jamaica College Manning Cup team pose for a 'selfie' with Principal, Senator Ruel Reid (second left), during a recent FLOW Super Cup Tour visit at the school.

Having been knocked out of the Walker Cup via a penalty shoot-out defeat, Jamaica College (JC) are determined to retain the ISSA/FLOW Super Cup football competition title. JC will start their defence against Vere Technical at the National Stadium, starting at 6 p.m.

This game is one of eight scheduled in the first round of the knockout competition dubbed 'The Champions League of Schoolboy Football'.

The second edition of the Super Cup will once again see a 'town vs country' showdown in the opening round. The top-eight Manning Cup teams and the top-eight daCosta cup sides will be battling for the trophy, top cash prize incentive of $1 million and bragging rights.

JC is not the same team as last year, but coach Miguel Coley has been doing a good job with the team.

JC breezed through Group A in the Manning Cup preliminary round and are on course to defend all three titles they won last year - Super Cup, Manning Cup and Olivier Shield.

JC will look to seasoned players such as captain Allando Brown, Donovan Dawkins, Ronaldo Brown, as well as former Charlie Smith midfielder Chevon Crooks.

On the other hand, Vere Technical easily won their Inter-Zone group with maximum nine points from three games on their way to the FLOW Super Cup.

The former daCosta Cup champions have been making steady progress and will be no pushovers in the game against JC.

In the opening game of the double-header, St Jago High oppose Lacovia. This game could go either way.

In the first round, each team will get $25,000 and an additional $50,000 for advancing to the quarter-finals, with the four semi-finalists set to receive another $100,000.

Each finalist will be paid $200,000, with the winners pocketing a further $625,000 for a local cash prize for a total cash prize of $1 million.