Sat | Dec 2, 2023

STETHS edge Munro in St Bess derby

Published:Saturday | September 24, 2016 | 12:00 AMPaul Clarke
St Elizabeth Technical High (STETHS) striker Jovaney Brown (right) and Munro College's Deandre Smalling in a tussle for the ball during yesterday’s ISSA/FLOW daCosta Cup game. STETHS won 2-1.

Western Bureau:

St Elizabeth Technical's Jovaney Brown scored his sixth goal of the 2016 ISSA-FLOW daCosta Cup campaign as STETHS defeated Zone E rivals Munro College 2-1 in Santa Cruz yesterday.

Brown scored STETHS' opener in the 36th minute, while a John-Michael Foster own goal in the 41st minute pushed the defending champions to a 2-0 lead at the half.

Munro showed glimpses of their quality and pulled a goal back in the 73rd minute after a brilliant solo effort from Tevin Shaw.

STETHS' win kept them in charge of the competitive zone with 12 points and a welcome return to winning ways after being surprised in their previous game - a 1-0 loss to Lacovia. The latter are second with 10 points, while Munro are third on eight.

Before kick off, the players and officials paid a special tribute to the late former St George's Manning Cup captain Dominic James, who died after collapsing during a Manning Cup match last week. A minute's silence was also observed.

The opening few minutes of the St Elizabeth derby belonged to Munro. Their attacking midfielders, Nicholas Collins, Timar Lewis, David Chambers and Shaw, were sharp in attack.

However, the STETHS defence, expertly marshalled by their outstanding Clifton Woodbine held firm.

"This is nothing new for us. We still have a long way to go, but we came into the game knowing Munro will never be able to defeat us here at home," Omar 'Rambo' Wedderburn, STETHS coach said.

"We just know how to get past them and this was visible today again. We will now prepare for our next set of games with confidence," Wedderburn told the Sunday Gleaner.

Lance Morgan, Munro coach, blamed inexperience for his team's loss.


Yesterday's results


o Newell 0 Lacovia 0

o STETHS 2 Munro 1

o Manchester 1 Mile Gully 1

o St James 0 Cornwall College 3

o Garvey Maceo 7 Denbigh 0

o Glenmiur 6 Winston Jones 0

o Paul Bogle 1 Morant Bay 0