Fri | Jan 21, 2022

TTCB boss says no to Tendulkar stand

Published:Thursday | April 27, 2017 | 12:00 AM

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, (CMC):

Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) president Azim Bassarath has made clear his displeasure with a stand at the Brian Lara Stadium being named after Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar.




Speaking on the contentious issue this week, Bassarath contended that there was a host of outstanding former West Indies players from Trinidad who were more deserving of the honour.

"Why not name a stand after Deryck Murray, and I call Deryck Murray's name first," the outspoken administrator said.

"Why couldn't we name a stand after Ian Bishop, Gus Logie, Raphick Jumadeen, Larry Gomes? We have a number of people [like] Sonny Ramadhin who lived just a stone's throw away from the stadium.

"They are great Trinidadians who have made significant contributions to West Indies and Trinidad and Tobago cricket."

It emerged earlier this week that the North West Stand at the Stadium would be named after the Indian icon, who holds the record for the most career runs in Tests with 15,921 from a record 200 matches.

He and Lara are contemporaries and are often regarded as the two finest batsmen of the modern era.

Chairman of the Sports Company of T&T, Michael Phillips, said that the decision to name the stand after Tendulkar had been on Lara's advice.