Thu | Sep 23, 2021

'We will retain our title' - Naggo Head coach confident of Primary Champs three-peat

Published:Friday | May 12, 2017 | 12:00 AMRobert Bailey
Taih Marques White (right) of Spanish Town won the Class Three boys’ 150m final ahead of Omary Robinson (left) of Greater Portmore and Devoi Walter of Clan Carthy at the 37th INSPORTS Primary School Athletics Championships at the National Stadium yesterday.
Asanneya Tomlin of St John’s crosses the line ahead of the field in the Class One girls’ 200m final at the 37th INSPORTS Primary School Athletics Championships at the National Stadium yesterday.

Defending champions Naggo Head Primary are on course to defend their INSPORTS Primary School Athletics Championships going into today's final day of competition at the National Stadium.

The Floyd Coke-coached Naggo Head Primary, who are seeking their third straight hold on the title, lead the standings with 63 points. They are followed by St John's (30 points), Harbour View, Greater Portmore and Spanish Town on 29 points each, Portsmouth (28), Lyssons and Belmont Park (27 each), Excelsior (26) and St Patrick's (20).

Coke said he very optimistic that they are going to retain their title today.

"We are confident that we will retain our title," said Coke. "Things have gone well so far for us, but in every championship, you are going to have mishaps, and we have had our fair share, but we are very strong on the track, and we will feature in most, if not all the finals tomorrow (today)," Coke said.

Christopher Scott of Old Harbour won the boys' Class One 200m in 24.42 seconds ahead of Yourie Lawrence of Naggo Head, 25.30 and Akeem Weir of Belmont Park, 25.36.

St John's Asanneya Tomlin captured the Class Two girls' equivalent in 25.96 seconds to finish in front of Domoya Compass of Greater Portmore, 26.37 and Naggo Head's Quaycian Davis, 26.81.




Marvin Patterson of Portsmouth captured the boys Class Two 200m in 26.06 ahead of Belmont Park's Ra-John Gray, 26.07 and Oshane Tucker from Sargeantville, 26.60, while Lyssons' Quana Walker sped away to win the gold Class Two equivalent in 27.10. St Richard's Chennel Thompson was second in 27.71 ahead of Jadeann Dawkins of Ewarton, 27.71.

Darnell Edwards from Harbour View won the boys' Class One 800m in 2:19.50. Shamari Jennings from St Jude's was second in 2:22.88, while third went to Excelsior's Jhahiem Henry 2:25.49. Buff Bay's Shanta Jones won the girls equivalent in 2:33.27 in front of Naggo Head's Rusheen Morgan, 2:35.26, while third went to Greater Portmore's Kelise Gooden (2:36.52).

Excelsior's Omarian Constable won the girls' long jump open with a leap of 4.77m ahead of St John's Abby-Gayle Williams (4.70m) and Keneika Brown of Portsmouth (4.67m).

Anthony Willis from St Patrick won the boys' high jump with a leap of 1.55m. Adrian Rumble from Rousseau was second with a mark of 1.54m, while Excelsior's Nicholas Williams finished third with a leap of 1.40m.