Wed | Oct 5, 2022

World record breakers to collect US$100,000

Published:Thursday | July 27, 2017 | 12:00 AM
American Ashton Eaton reacts as he celebrates winning the gold medal in the men's decathlon in a world record points tally of 9,045 at the IAAF World Athletics Championships at the Bird's Nest stadium in Beijing, on Saturday, August 29, 2015.

When Usain Bolt broke the world records for the 100 and 200 metres at the 2009 IAAF World Championships in Berlin, he collected US$100,000 each for both new marks.

Bolt clocked 9.58 seconds for the 100m and 19.19 over 200m, and these two marks still stand. The bonus payments are presented with the support of two of the IAAF's partners: TDK (for the men's events) and Toyota (for the women's events).

The World Record Programme will continue at this year's meet in London, where athletes achieving a world record will still be eligible for a special World Record Award of US$100,000, offered by TDK and Toyota.

The performance, the IAAF said in a release, must be an improvement on the existing world record. Performances that equal the existing IAAF world record will not be eligible for a world record award.

The last world record award to be presented with a bonus was Ashton Eaton's 9045-point tally in the decathlon at the World Championships in Beijing two years ago.

TDK's involvement with the IAAF World Championships goes beyond the world record award as the Japanese electronics company has been the main bib sponsor (men's events) for all 15 previous editions and will maintain that involvement in London.

Another Japanese company - Toyota Motor Corporation - has offered the same sponsorship package for the women athletes since becoming an IAAF partner in 2003 ahead of the World Championships that year in Paris.

More than $7 million will be on offer in London.





Individual events


Gold: US$60,000

Silver: US$30,000

Bronze: US$ 20,000

Fourth place: US$ 15,000

Fifth place: US$ 10,000

Sixth place: US$ 6,000

Seventh place: US$ 5,000

Eighth place: US$ 4,000


Relays (per team)


Gold: US$80,000

Silver: US$40,000

Bronze: US$20,000

Fourth place: US$16,000

Fifth place: US$12,000

Sixth place: US$8,000

Seventh place: US$6,000

Eighth place: US$4,000