Sun | Sep 26, 2021

New boards won't affect streamlining - Grange

Published:Monday | November 19, 2018 | 12:00 AMAkino Ming

Sport minister Olivia Grange says that the announcement of new boards for the Sports Development Foundation (SDF), the Institute of Sports and Independence Park Limited (IPL) yesterday is not counter to plans to streamline all three agencies, as they need to continue conducting operations while streamlining is taking place.

"We have to continue to see to the business of sports and the implementation of the National Sports Policy," Grange told The Gleaner. "With everything, there is a process, and so we are transitioning now into the new structure, but we have to ensure that the business continues."

She continued: "The streamlining will not be done overnight. We have to have a consultant on board; there will be new job descriptions and the fine-tuning of a new structure, so it is not going to be ready just yet."

Two weeks ago, the Ministry of Sport announced that it will be streamlining all three agencies to prevent an overlapping of roles.

"The Institute of Sports has a mandate to unearth talent and develop the talent; they are not into infrastructure development. IPL has a mandate; they are about infrastructure and the Sports Development Foundation is about funding and we will have things streamlined in a way that we don't have an overlap," Grange said at the time. "We will have an overarching body.

The SDF will maintain its status because it is a charitable entity."



The new boards: IPL


Mike Fennell (chairman)

David Shirley (vice chairman)

Annmarie Heron

Major Desmon Brown

Assistant Commission of Police Terrence Bent

Lieutenant Colonel Roderick Rowe

Lenford Salmon

Carlton Dennis

Edward Barnes

Dr Peter Charles

Audrey Chin


Institute of Sports


Newton Amos (chairman)

Assistant Commissioner of Police Ronald Anderson (deputy chairman)

Gladstone Wright

Emile Spence


Florette Blackwood

Ryan Foster

Daphne Hurge

Michelle Holt

Lee Martin

Marvalyn Campbell

Allan Beckford

Renardo Smith





George Soutar (chairman)

Lloyd Pommells (deputy chairman)

David Shirley

Ian Forbes

Molly Rhone

Dr Donovan Bennett

Christopher Stokes

Annmarie Heron

Newton Amos

Compton Rodney