Tue | Sep 21, 2021

National Under-21 hockey squads selected for Junior Pan Am tournament

Published:Monday | August 5, 2019 | 12:21 AMDaniel Wheeler/Gleaner Writer

The Jamaica Hockey Federation has released the names of the 61-member training squad to represent Jamaica in next year’s Junior Pan American Hockey Championships.

The squad consists of 30 players called for the men’s squad, including six, reserves and 31 called to the women’s team including five reserve players.

The selections come on the heels of the recently concluded National-Under 21 Hockey League Finals, which was the vehicle used to evaluate the players selected. Malvern Eagles won the female/mixed division defeating Liguanea Lites 2-1, while the Liguanea Bucks won the male division 1-0.

Latoya Sanchez of the Malvern Eagles and Shemar Gordon of the Liguanea Bucks, who were named the Most Valuable Players of their respective divisions, are among the players included. Top goaltenders from the under-21 league, Brean Blackwood of Merl Grove High School and Rasheed Johnston of Kingston College, were also included.

Jamaica will host the Pan American qualifiers next March and will hope that both teams qualify for the Junior Pan American Hockey Championships, which will be held in Chile in 2020.

Men’s Squad

Oshane Bean, Jouvaughn Campbell, Kayode Crooks, Richard Davis,Taffari Dennis, Zacary Ellis, Travis Gilfilian, Tuseef Graham, Shemar Gordon, Gilford Harding, Gian-Paul Haugton, Garlon Holmes, Rasheed Johnston, Dehavalon Morris, Nevin Nish, Dwight O’Hara, Richard Piper, Daniel Powell, Kevon Reid, Christopher Reid, Jordaine Simpson, Rarjar Singh, Shacane Smellie, Nickoy Stephenson, Leighton Williams. Reserves: Shaun Arnasevia, D’andre Cowan, Liam Elliot, Carlando Gordon, Tae Malik Harrison, Farijah Masters.

Women’s Squad

Tamiann Ashmeade, Brean Blackwood, Seychelle Doyley, Jessie Freeman, Shadae Gillespie, Brianna Gilfillian, Shaheim Harrision, Aaliyah James, Jovanna Johnson, Tia Lindsay, Imauny Linton, Kimani Mclean, Kareeka Nichols, Corey-Ann Reid, Charlette Rowe, Latoya Sanchez, Courtney Seivreight, Candice Simpson, Shanice Taylor, Crystal Walker, Krysten Watson, Ajhnique Williams, Alexis Williams, Andreena Williams, Whitney Williams. Reserves: Brittney Blackwood, Corey-Ann Morgan, Mickaylia Morris, Shaniqua Reid, Saroya Tabbanor.