Mon | Oct 26, 2020

McCarthy, Royal to miss CPL

Published:Tuesday | August 4, 2020 | 12:25 AMLennox Aldred/Gleaner Writer

Jamaican batsman Andre McCarthy and left-arm spinner Jeavor Royal will not take part in this year’s Caribbean Premier League (CPL), as they have been withdrawn from the Jamaica Tallawahs squad after coming in contact with another Jamaican cricketer, who has contracted COVID-19.

The Gleaner understands that the duo had close contact with the infected player during a net session recently. The player is said to be part of another CPL franchise team.

CEO of the Jamaica Cricket Association Courtney Francis confirmed that a Jamaican player did indeed test positive for COVID-19.

The other Jamaicans that have been drafted with other franchises in this year’s CPL are Sheldon Cottrell, Dennis Bulli and Fabian Allen (St Kitts and Nevis Patriots) Javelle Glen (St Lucia Zouks), Brandon King and Odean Smith (Guyana Amazon Warriors)

Despite McCarthy and Royal’s COVID-19 test coming back negative, the protocols for the CPL requires two negative tests before players are allowed to travel to Trinidad and Tobago, where this year’s competition is being staged.


All players and support staff who will be a part of this year’s CPL will have to clear COVID-19 tests before they fly out for the tournament and fulfil a two-week quarantine period in Trinidad and Tobago.

Already 102 players arrived in Trinidad on Sunday but the latest situation means both McCarthy and Royal missed the specially arranged Caribbean Airlines charter flight that left the island yesterday with 67 additional players. The special flight will make stops in Barbados and Guyana before making its way to Port of Spain.

The Jamaica Tallawahs has since replaced McCarthy and Royal with West Indies batsman Jermaine Blackwood and bowling all-rounder Ramaal Lewis.

The latest development is also bitter-sweet for Lewis, who was initially left off the Tallawahs roster following the draft.

The 2020 edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will be played entirely behind closed doors from August 18 to September 20, with all matches set to take place in the Twin Island Republic.