Thu | Sep 23, 2021

Boyz thoroughly briefed ahead of Japan trip

Published:Saturday | May 29, 2021 | 12:10 AMRobert Bailey/Gleaner Writer
Goalkeeper Andre Blake.
Goalkeeper Andre Blake.

Deputy chairman of the Jamaica Football Federation’s (JFF) medical committee, Dr Derrick McDowell, says the Reggae Boyz have been thoroughly advised about the protocols and guidelines ahead of their departure today for three friendly matches in Japan.

The Reggae Boyz will face Japan in the first game on June 3, before taking on Serbia on June 7. They will close out the tour of the Asian country on June 12 with a game against the Japan Olympic team.


Japan, host of this summer’s Olympic Games, has recorded a massive spike in COVID-19 cases in recent months, which pushed the country’s confirmed cases of the virus to over 735,000. There have been more than 12,600 deaths recorded from the deadly disease. The friendly matches will be played in the cities of Sapporo, Kobe and Nagoya where the COVID-19 infection rates are very low.

However, despite this, Dr McDowell said they will be taking no chances and therefore every player has been properly briefed about the COVID-19 rules in Japan.

“Everybody has been tested and they have to be symptom-free as well. They have all been advised of all the various protocols and expectations before their departure for Japan,” he said.

“Once we get to Japan, then the local protocols will take over and there will be another system of testing that we will have to go through,” said Dr McDowell while adding that players are likely to be tested every three days while they are in Japan.

He underscored that the players will be placed in a sterile environment on their arrival in Japan.

“Once they go into Japan, they will be in a bio-secure environment and they will have to abide by the rules set by the authorities over there. We have to be vigilant once we get into Japan,” Dr McDowell said.

The Reggae Boyz squad includes: Andre Blake, Dennis Taylor, Jaedin White, Dillon Barnes, Liam Moore, Adrian Marriappa, Kacey Palmer, Kemar Lawrence, Amari Bell, Wesley Harding, Oneil Fisher, Alvas Powell, Devon Williams, Kevon Lambert, Ravel Morrison, Blair Turgott, Junior Flemming, Damion Lowe Luca Levee, Tyreek Magee, Lamar Walker, Shamar Nicholson, Cory Burke, Javon East, Andre Grey, Jashuan Anglin, Ethan Pinnock and Kevaughn Issacs.