Sat | Mar 25, 2023

STETHS to launch title defence against Newell

Published:Wednesday | January 6, 2010 | 12:00 AM

Reigning national cricket champions St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) will open the defence of the ISSA/Grace rural area knockout competition against Newell High, when the competition bowls off next week Tuesday.

The competition, which was recently added to the ISSA cricketing calendar as equivalent to the ISSA urban area Jamaica International Insurance Company Knockout (formerly Tappin Cup), will be played this year as a 35-overs-per-side event and not 50 as in previous years.

Other key match-ups in the opening round will see last year's beaten finalists Manchester High taking on Knox College in the feature game of Zone D, last year's beaten semi-finalist Vere Technical playing away to Glenmuir High in Zone E and 2008 beaten Headley Cup finalists Garvey Maceo entertaining Tacius Golding.

The competition will be played over seven rounds, with the semi-finals slated for January 26 and the final, for January 29.

The Headley Cup will start following the completion of this competition.

ISSA Grace Shield

Meanwhile, action in urban area competitions will start next week Wednesday with the opening set of matches in the ISSA Grace Shield.

First-round schedule (Home teams are named first): Zones A and B: Cambridge vs William Knibb, Godfrey Stewart vs Green Island, Cornwall vs Anchovy, Grange Hill vs Merlene Ottey, Herbert Morrison vs Green Pond, Rusea's vs Maldon, Irwin High vs St James High, Little London vs Frome Techincal, Muschett High vs Spot Valley High. Mannings have secured a bye.

Zones C and D: BB Coke vs Lacovia, Bellefield vs Christiana High, Maggotty vs Munro College, Spalding vs Albert Town High, STETHS vs Newell High, Mile Gully vs Cross Keys High, Lewisville vs Black River High, DeCarteret vs Holmwood Techincal, Manchester vs Knox College.

Zones E and F: Clarendon College vs Edwin Allen, Paul Bogle vs Fair Prospect, Garvey Maceo vs Tacius Golding, Morant Bay vs Seaforth High, Glenmuir vs Vere Technical, Robert Lightbourne vs Titchfield, Kemps Hill vs Old Harbour, Happy Grove vs St Thomas Technical. Port Antonio High got a bye.

Zones G and H: Bog Walk vs Charlemont High, Aabuthnott Gallimore vs Cedric Titus, Dinthill vs McGrath, York Castle vs Marcus Garvey, Islington vs Glengoffe, Ocho Rios vs Oracabessa, St Mary Technical vs Guys High, Iona vs Brown's Town, St Mary High School and Tacky each got a bye.